Russian Hospitality

Posted By: Margarita Williams

The Chicago-Moscow Exchange was an unexpected enlightening experience for me. Unlike my classmates, I felt very comfortable in a group mostly made up of foreigners who needed an interpreter to understand what I was saying and vice versa. But I some how, expected them to be more timid and unsure, instead what I got was a group of people ready and willing to discuss the politics of their government and the press and learn about ours.

Our Russian visitors seemed eager to ask questions and participate in the discussion. Whenever a question was posed by one of my classmates or myself, everyone wanted to respond. The uncensored conversation, I believed allowed both groups to walk away with a better understanding and appreciation for the other.

At the end of our discussion, one of the visitors even presented us with souvenirs of Russian landmarks which I found to be more than hospitable.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

